One-sided telephone conversation

Write a one-sided phone conversation that is overheard by someone else. The eavesdropper, the caller and the person on the other end of the line are all connected in some way. Try to build an understanding of the dynamic and emotions between the three of them.  It’s not necessary to convey a complete understanding of the entire conversation, you could show understanding as it progresses or not at all.  Make the side we hear intriguing and capable of carrying a story. Remember, you are writing from the point of view of the eavesdropper.

Just take the phone will you.  God, if looks could kill.

“Hello Jane”

“Yes… YES”

“No, I’m not avoiding you.”

“Don’t bloody start please.”

“Yes, I know… I KNOW”

“Look, I’m doing my best ok.”

“You had it all last month.”

“What!”

“The bloody CSA can go screw themselves.”

“I didn’t mean…”

“Yes, I know that”

“Don’t be ridiculous.”

“For God’s sake, you’re not exactly starving are you?”

Well, here we go again.  Same old same old, I’m sick of it.  I’m getting sick of him.

“Bloody hell, I didn’t mean that.”

“That’s not fair Jane and you know it.”

“Oh God, let’s not start this again.”

“You’re just being paranoid, as usual.”

“Okay okay.  But you just have to dredge up the past, don’t you.”

“That’s absolutely not true. She’s got nothing to do with it”

“That’s not true either.  You know that’s not true.”

“I’m twisting YOUR words, give me a break.”

“Oh, for God’s sake Jane. WILL YOU JUST LISTEN FOR ONCE IN YORU DAMN LIFE?”

“Jane…. Jane?”

“Oh God, I’m sorry… sorry love… I didn’t mean to shout.”

Well there’s a fucking surprise: she’s crying. I am SO over this.

“Look, I can come round.”

“What, now?”

Now?  You’ve got to be kidding me.

“I’m trying here Jane.”

“Where?”

“You know I can’t.”

“You always say that.”

“Now you’re just being bloody-minded.”

“Okay okay, I’ll do my best.”

“Jane… Jane.”  He looks at me “bloody hell she’s put the phone down”.

What a shock.  Until next month.

Categories: Just Stories

Tags: , ,

I would love to hear your views...

