#5 If you think your life isn’t so great. Think again.

I have been thinking lately about how, due to a stroke of luck, I was born in the West.  So I wrote a list.  As I wrote, the list grew to include things that affect many people, irrespective of geography.  I hope that a lot of people reading this will feel the same as me – I am one lucky human being.

  • I do not live in a war zone
  • I have enough food to eat
  • I have access to education
  • I can vote for my government
  • I have access to clean water
  • I am allowed to speak my mind without fear of reprisal
  • I can drive a car, alone if I want to
  • I have access to the ‘safety net’ of social security if I need it
  • I can choose the clothes I want to wear
  • I have the freedom to choose who I want to marry (or not)
  • I can write what I want to write
  • I have access to legal representation if I need it
  • I do not live under the fear of violence
  • I can watch the news, movies or TV uncensored
  • I have access to technology
  • I can protest if I choose to
  • I do not live in fear of informants
  • I can travel freely
  • I have never been tortured for my beliefs
  • I can read whichever books I choose
  • I have never experienced prejudice
  • I have access to a doctor when I need one
  • I am not enslaved
  • I have the freedom to make my own choices

If you have anything to add to this list or wish to comment on my choices, please feel free.

Categories: Just Thoughts

Tags: , ,

6 replies

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I’ve shared this on Twitter and Facebook.

  2. What a great list! I think you covered everything…but you have me thinking and I’d like to see if given enough time I can think of any more. Great list to contemplate, and be thankful! Debra

I would love to hear your views...

