If age imparted wisdom, there wouldn’t be any old fools.

wisdom sign

Everyone gets older. But do we get wiser? Oscar Wilde said ‘with age comes wisdom, but sometimes age just comes alone’ which I’m sure is true for many people and, probably like you, I’ve met a few! Socrates said ‘The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing’ which, having reached the young age of 51, rings true. I don’t think I really understand what wisdom is or whether I’ve attained it. Is it knowledge combined with insight? Is it the ability to handle anything that comes your way? Is it about self-knowledge, knowing who you are, what you’re capable of and accepting the faults that you know you have? Is it fundamentally about people; knowing yourself and therefore understanding and accepting others? I guess it’s a personal definition. I have learned some stuff along the way, but whether it amounts to wisdom is another matter.

  • There is no point worrying what other people think of you, it’s a waste of energy and there is nothing you can do if someone dislikes you or judges you.
  • You are mostly just ‘a number’ if you work for someone else, whether that is a large organisation or a small one. If they don’t need you doing that job anymore, you’re gone. No-one is indispensable.
  • Friends will come and go. Life changes and people change with it, sometimes people just move on.
  • Having principles says more about who you are that money, beauty or success. The people I’ve respected (and loved) most in my life have integrity at their core.
  • Admit it when you’re wrong. I’ve never been one to avoid admitting to mistakes. Putting your hand up is one of my basic tenets in life and I’m not afraid to do it. Those who don’t, will feel eventually feel the pain of ”what comes around, goes around’, of that I’m quite sure.
  • Everyone loves gossip and being two-faced is part of human make-up. Cynical that may sound, but I haven’t met anyone yet who refuses to talk about someone else.
  • Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit and I tend to steer clear of people whose humour hinges on the discomfort of someone else; it always makes my blood boil.
  • Good manners cost nothing. Not saying please or thank you is just rude.
  • Believing that everyone else is having more fun, more sex; has more money, more happiness and more success, is pointless. Some people probably are, most are not and, aside from close family, how much do we really know what is going on in someone else’s life? Particularly their inner life; the outward show can be very deceiving.
  • Most people, if they’re really lucky, can count their true friends on one hand; the rest are just acquaintances.
  • Modesty is endearing; immodesty is boring in the extreme.
  • Being happy is down to you. No-one can do it for you.
  • Blondes do not have more fun!

So there we are. The little I’ve gleaned so far in my life; I’m sure there’s still a lot more to learn.

Do you have any others you would add? Do you agree? How would you define the wisdom that comes with age? Or wisdom per se?

Categories: Just Plain Blog

Tags: , ,

6 replies

  1. Loving the new-look blog!

    Yes, I so agree with this. I believe that people are actually born a certain age, and rarely move out of that bracket – perhaps in exceptional circumstances. But having three children who are all rapidly growing up and leaving to do their own thing, I know that they were all born different, and they all retain characteristics I first saw when they were just babies!
    Age just either helps to bring out the best in us, or it does the opposite if we find unfortunate circumstances in life.

    Happy New Year, Sally.
    🙂

  2. I think that age does provide perspective that helps us at least feel we’re wiser! I have learned along the way that embarrassment is definitely survivable…so get out there and just be. And I love Wayne Dyer’s quote, “What you think of me is none of my business!” I like to keep that close to me at all times! 🙂

  3. I agree with all your points and I would add one more: true happiness is not to be found in material things, but I feel sheer joy admiring the wonders of Mother Nature.

  4. I agree with Socrates, ‘The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing’. Like you, I have reached an age where I’m finding that I’m still naive, gullible, and trusting. People may grow up, but it is just a more mature version of high school; people talking behind each others back, sarcasm is still here, and yes, we are all just numbers.
    Rarely do we see good manners or principles. Happiness lives inside, not outside.
    Thank you for sharing this.

I would love to hear your views...

