Look Diana, Lance wants to be the king of people’s hearts!

Diana

Like millions of others I watched the Lance Armstrong interview with Oprah this weekend and it vividly reminded me of another interview: that famous 1995 interview with Princess Diana.  She had that same wide-eyed look, cock of the head, tone of regret.  And like Lance, she chose a specific person to conduct the interview, the well-known BBC journalist, Martin Bashir.

Lance Armstrong’s interview was a carefully crafted event it seems to me, just like Diana’s. Choosing Oprah as the interviewer got him prime time coverage around the world for his ‘confession’.  Although he admitted the drug use, being a narcissist, a bully and a ruthless competitor, his only defence it seemed to me was being ‘a flawed human being’. I never really got the sense that he regretted it and as for the tears when he talked about telling his kids  ‘not to defend me’, he should be ashamed as he had lied to them their entire lives.

I read It’s Not About the Bike a long time ago and truly admired what he’d achieved, it was inspirational. I even bought a LiveStrong yellow wristband and waxed lyrical to whoever would listen about what an amazing person he was, what an Lance_Armstrong-1200athlete. Later I read David Walsh’s 2007 book From Lance to Landis and my eyes were opened. This quote from It’s Not About the Bike really sticks in my craw. It may have been written when he was in the throes of cancer but just look how far from this vision of himself he actually got, it’s sickening.

“I asked myself what I believed. I had never prayed a lot. I hoped hard, wished hard, but I didn’t pray. I had developed a certain distrust of organised religion growing up, but I felt I had the capacity to be a spiritual person, and to hold some fervent beliefs. Quite simply, I believed I had a responsibility to be a good person, and that meant being fair, honest, hard working and honourable. If I did that, if I was good to my family, true to my friends, if I gave back to my community or to some cause, if I wasn’t a liar, a cheat, or a thief, then I believed that should be enough. At the end of the day, if there was indeed some Body or presence standing there to judge me, I hoped I would be judged on whether I had lived a true life, not on whether I believed in a certain book, or whether I’d been baptised.”

I am glad he’s finally confessed all, but for all of the pain he has caused others, the lies he has told and the children and families in LiveStrong he has betrayed, he deserves everything he has got coming to him.

Categories: Just Plain Blog

Tags: , , ,

5 replies

  1. Hi Sally, good article and very perceptive comparison, I feel.
    Hope all is well, you’ve been q bit quiet lately.
    Take care,
    Anne

  2. I’m not much of a sports fan so I know only what I see on the news, but the hypocrisy in that quote seems appalling. Some commentators have suggested he had to keep up the lie to avoid prosecution for perjuring himself before a Congressional committee looking into doping. Now that the statute of limitations (seven years) has run out, and he is exempt, he can confess all without fear of the law. What he hopes to gain from this seems obscure to me. Perhaps the evidence had become so damning he was beginning to look foolish in his denials.

  3. Such an interesting observation comparing the two interviews! I didn’t watch the Armstrong interview, but I certainly heard it discussed in detail over the airwaves the following days. I can’t imagine any reputation rehabilitation coming out of this, so I think it will be interesting to see if he turns his life into serving others. That’s the only redemption I can imagine. I agree with you about those he has hurt. There’s the real tragedy.

  4. I couldn’t agree more, I only watched some of it and don’t think he should have been given prime air time. He is rich now and his earnings dishonest, this interview was definitely PR staged.

I would love to hear your views...

